Home » Recent » Ajinkya Rahane and Co defeat visitors to reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Ajinkya Rahane and Co defeat visitors to reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Indian cricket team

India marked their status as the world’s number one side as they destroyed Australia by eight wickets to hold a bitterly fought series 2-1 and on day four of the 4t Test Tuesday.

Chasing 106, opener KL Rahul (51 not out) scored the winning runs in Dharamsala to take back the Border-Gavaskar trophy from Australia, who had triumphed at home in 2014-15.

India’s stand-in skipper Ajinkya Rahane (38 not out) beat two sixes in a row off Pat Cummins on the way to the overall victory, as the home masses waved large India flags and danced in the stands.

The hosts did 332 in their first innings in reply to Australia’s 300 before the visitors dropped for just 137 on the third day.

India lost Murali Vijay to fast bowler Cummins and Cheteshwar Pujara to a runout, but they were the only hiccups the India side faced in the morning session.

The Indians owed their victory to all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja who starred with both bat and ball, top-scoring with 63 runs in the 1st innings before taking 3 wickets with his left-arm spin during Australia’s short-lived second knock.

Indian pace bowlers Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar also added to give their side early breakthroughs.

Australia had themselves to accuse of capitulating during their 2nd innings after giving India a close fight entire the series, marked by several flare-ups among the players.

The victory was India’s 10th out of 13 Tests in a marathon home season that saw them get the better of New Zealand, England, and Bangladesh.

About pavan

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top
Read previous post:
Sachin Joshi says dogs are better then Bandla Ganesh

Young hero Sachin Joshi carved a niche for himself with...

Launch date fixed for Pawan Kalyan-Trivikram’s next movie

The regular shoot in their combination is likely to start...