Home » Recent » Pawar, Sangma and Kohli to be accorded with Padma awards

Pawar, Sangma and Kohli to be accorded with Padma awards


Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Sharad Pawar and senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi has made it to the list of Padma awardees for this year. They will be accorded the Padma Vibhushan, as would late Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, late former Lok Sabha Speaker P.A. Sangma, late Madhya Pradesh chief minister Sunder Lal Patwah.

Legendary singer K.J. Yesudas will also be accorded the second highest civilian honour.

Continuing his good year in cricket, Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli will be awarded the Padma Shri. Other sportspersons to be so awarded include Olympian Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Vikas Gowda for discus throw and P.R. Sreejesh for hockey.

Among NRIs to be awarded this year are pioneering AIDS researcher Dr Suniti Solomon, surbahar artist Imrat Khan and from Nepal, Anuradha Koirala for social work.

Among journalists, film critic Bhavna Somaiya will be awarded the Padma Shri.

“Mohanveena” maestro Vishwa Mohan Bhat will be awarded the Padma Bhushan, while singer Anuradha Paudwal will be awarded the Padma Shri.

According to top government sources, the nation’s highest civilian honour, the Bharat Ratna will not be awarded this year.

The awards will be officially announced this evening.

About admin

Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top
Read previous post:
Jallikattu: Over 170 arrested for Monday’s violence

Chennai: A day after large scale violence marred the culmination...

Four civilians, Army officer killed As Avalanche Hits Army Camp In Jammu And Kashmir

Five persons, including an Army officer, were killed in avalanches...